Wine is not vegan — who knew?

Day 6.

You’ve been following from Day 1, right?? If not, I’ve told you I am on a number of journeys, not just sobriety. Another one is moving from eating a vegetarian diet to a vegan diet. That’s 100% plant-based, no meat, dairy, eggs, and no by-products of animals.

I’ve been vegetarian for years. And drank wine thinking that was in line with vegetarian ingredients.

I recently learned that most wine is not vegetarian, and certainly not vegan. I became aware of this when I was given a present of vegan wine.

Apparently during the fining process that makes wine clear and bright, producers traditionally use a variety of agents to help the process along. Most commonly used: casein (a milk protein), albumin (egg whites), gelatin (animal protein) and isinglass (fish bladder protein). Traces of these fining agents are absorbed into the wine during the fining process.

Yet another reason to say no to vino. I’m happy to tally these types of facts on the side of ‘reasons for quitting’….

Annnnnd this gives me a great excuse to post another favorite song of mine 🙂  Written by the legend that is Merle Haggard, “Reasons To Quit'”.

Here’s a version by two personal heroes: Merle and Willie. You’re welcome.

“Reasons to quit
The low it always lower than the high
And the reasons to quit
Don’t out number all the reasons why
So we keep smokin’ and we keep drinkin’
Havin’ fun and never thinkin’
Laughin’ at the price tag that we pay
And we keep roarin’ down the fast lane
Like two young men feelin’ no pain
And the reason for quittin’s
Gettin’ bigger each day”

(lyrics: Merle Haggard)

 

Photo by Thomas Verbruggen on Unsplash